low cost VPS server: is Windows Server included?

If Windows Server is a requirement, confirm the license treatment on the exact VPS offer before ordering: OVHcloud and IONOS list Windows VPS products, but the reviewed product pages do not spell out a separate license line, while netcup explicitly offers only an evaluation installation and does not sell Windows licenses.

Checked October 9, 2026 · OVHcloud worldwide English page · IONOS US English pages · netcup English VPS and help pages · product-page disclosure only; no checkout, server, or license was tested or purchased.

What the three VPS pages disclose

Provider and page scopeWindows wording checkedLicense detail shown on that VPS evidenceBoundary
OVHcloud worldwide Windows VPSThe page lists Windows VPS plans and says Windows is pre-installed on its Windows VPS. Its feature note excludes Windows from Local Zones.No separate Windows license price or license term appears on the reviewed page.Pre-installed describes the image supplied; the page checked does not establish a separate billing treatment.
IONOS US Windows VPS+The VPS+ feature list identifies Windows Server 2022 or 2025, and the product page offers Windows VPS+ plans.The reviewed VPS+ pages do not state a distinct Windows license amount or billing rule.IONOS has a separate Windows license help page, but it is explicitly scoped to Cloud Servers. This comparison does not apply that Cloud Server rule to VPS+.
netcup English VPSThe VPS FAQ says there is no ready-made Windows server; customers may install Windows through the SCP using an evaluation license.The Windows installation help page says netcup does not sell Windows licenses.The evaluation period is not evidence of a production license being included. Obtain a valid license separately for ongoing use.

These are page-scope findings, not a price ranking. “Not stated on the page checked” means the reviewed source did not disclose that detail; it is not a claim that no other offer or checkout screen contains it. [A] [B] [C] [D]

How to read “Windows VPS” before you buy

A Windows option answers which operating system the product can provide. It does not, by itself, answer whether a license is separately billed, what license rights apply, or whether a particular location supports that image. Keep those questions separate in the order review.

For OVHcloud, the checked page directly connects its Windows VPS product with a pre-installed Windows operating system, while its feature note excludes Windows in Local Zones. It does not show a separate license line, so the safe reading is “Windows image offered on eligible locations; billing terms need confirmation,” not “license is free.” [A]

For IONOS, the US product page advertises Windows Server on VPS+. Its separate licensing help page is for Cloud Servers, so its core-license explanation should not be carried over to VPS+ without a VPS-specific order detail. [B] [C]

For netcup, the official VPS FAQ and Windows installation guide are more explicit: installation is available with an evaluation license, but netcup does not sell Windows licenses. Plan for your own valid production license rather than treating the evaluation period as ongoing entitlement. [D]

License check before checkout

  1. Choose the exact provider product, region, and VPS generation. At OVHcloud, check the location because the Windows feature note excludes Local Zones. [A]
  2. Save the order summary that names the operating system and inspect whether it shows a Windows license, an included software item, or an additional recurring charge. If the page does not say, ask the provider to identify the applicable product terms before paying.
  3. For IONOS, keep Windows VPS+ product statements distinct from the Cloud Server licensing help page. Ask for the license rule that applies to the VPS+ SKU you selected; the reviewed pages do not settle it. [B] [C]
  4. For netcup, treat its Windows image as evaluation use only. Arrange a valid license separately for continued production use and check the license terms with Microsoft or an authorized supplier. [D]
  5. Record the storefront, product name, location, license wording, recurring amount if shown, and renewal term in your own quote. Do not compare a blank disclosure with a zero-cost license.

Questions VPS buyers ask

Is Windows Server included with a low cost VPS?

Do not infer license inclusion just from a Windows VPS label. OVHcloud says its Windows VPS is delivered with Windows pre-installed, IONOS lists Windows Server for VPS+, and netcup explicitly limits its self-install offer to evaluation use and says it does not sell licenses. Check the license and recurring-charge lines for the exact product. [A] [B] [D]

Can I keep using netcup’s evaluation Windows image for production?

The netcup installation guide says the evaluation period lasts 180 days and that a valid license is needed afterward. It also says netcup does not provide Windows licenses. Obtain a license separately and follow the manufacturer’s terms. [D]

Does IONOS’s Windows license help page settle VPS+ licensing?

The reviewed help page is headed and scoped to Cloud Servers. The VPS+ product page identifies Windows Server but does not state its license billing rule, so the pages checked do not establish that the Cloud Server rule applies to VPS+. [B] [C]

Method and limits

The official product and help pages linked below were checked on October 9, 2026. The OVHcloud page is its worldwide English Windows VPS page; its visible plan currency is not used here. IONOS evidence is from the US English Windows VPS+ product page and a separate Cloud Server licensing help page. netcup evidence is from its English VPS FAQ and Windows installation guide. No license was purchased, no checkout was completed, and no VPS was provisioned.

This is an evidence map of what those pages disclose, not legal or licensing advice. The IONOS VPS+ license line and OVHcloud's separate Windows license billing terms remain unconfirmed in the pages reviewed. Verify those details for your location and exact order before purchase.

Download the Windows VPS license check table

The table keeps each provider's product scope and unanswered license question together. It records page disclosure only and does not assign an undisclosed fee as zero.

Download the CSV check table

Evidence rows checked October 9, 2026.

Evidence and number sources

  1. A — OVHcloud, Windows VPS. States Windows VPS is delivered with Windows pre-installed; page feature note excludes Windows in Local Zones. No separate Windows license charge or billing terms shown on the page checked. Checked October 9, 2026.
  2. B — IONOS US, Windows VPS / VPS+. Product page identifies Windows Server 2022 or 2025 for VPS+ and lists Windows VPS+ plans. Checked October 9, 2026.
  3. C — IONOS Help, Windows Server Licenses. The document says it is for Cloud Servers and describes core licensing for that scope. It is not used here to infer VPS+ licensing. Checked October 9, 2026.
  4. D — netcup, VPS hosting FAQ and Installing Windows. The VPS FAQ says netcup offers no ready-made Windows server, gives a 180-day evaluation license for self-install, and does not sell Windows licenses; the help page says a valid license is needed after the evaluation period. Last updated July 23, 2026. Checked October 9, 2026.

Related: low cost VPS server: what does Plesk add to the bill?

Related: low cost VPS server: where does your SSH public key go?